For the Devs: Mark’s Custom _s

Throughout last month, I put a lot of work into my custom fork of the _s theme that I use for development. I had two new projects to develop so I’ve been using those to clarify the changes I make at the start of most projects. I thought I’d share it for anyone who wants to take a look.

My customizations are in the mark_master branch and there’s a brief overview of the features in the readme. The big changes I’ve made are:

  • Adding SASS (including the Compass and Breakpoint libraries and the “Frameless” responsive columns technique).
  • Switching in a normalize css sheet instead of a reset.
  • Adding some mu-plugins to handle post types, taxonomies, WordPress customizations etc.

If anyone has ideas or thoughts, feel free to respond in the comments or over on GitHub.

Leave a Reply

